Giving Up?


‘A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step.’ (Loa Tzu, 600 BC-531 BC)

This is one of my favourite quotes and one that I think everybody especially myself should take more notice of. It’s all two easy to say ‘I won’t tidy my bedroom today there’s too much to do’. If we took this approach to everything in life nothing would ever get done.

It is the people in this world who put this thought aside who can achieve, Steve Brown fell of a balcony when on holiday with his girlfriend. He broke his neck and was paralysed from his chest downwards. Most people would be depressed, not Steve, he took up wheelchair rugby.

Q: How did you get to be so good at wheelchair rugby?

A: “My Dad and my coach took me to see the GB team after my accident. I was very nervous and very frail, and they were aggressive, violent, full of testosterone. I thought to myself ‘Well, if they can get on with it, then so can I.’ Two days after I left hospital I had my very first training session. The more I played, the better I got. The better I got, the more I wanted to play…”‘

He is now on the GB squad. As his body was paralysed from the chest down his muscles that help him take full breaths aren’t affective making it nigh on impossible to have a high VO2 max, with intense training, getting up in the morning and training, eating right, not giving up when times are hard he has managed to improve his vo2 max so much that he could compete with an able-bodied person.

Wheelchair Rugby is not an easy sport either: ‘During a match in Germany in 2009 my wheelchair was hit by two players at the same time. I broke my sternum, six ribs and bruised my heart. I was in intensive care for three days and in hospital for six weeks. I was out for six months, I missed two big tournaments – they were my chances to prove I deserved a place in the GB squad

Yet he still managed to get back up and continue. Next time I think I’ll leave that job or training session till later I will think about Steve and think, I still have all my body intact, don’t let it be an accident that forces you to train hard or stop being lazy.

~ by Nathan Fuller on September 2, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
